VLOG: MY 13-DAY JOURNEY TO GERMANY VIA ITALY (direct travel to Germany from the UK was NOT allowed!) #Germany #travel





Three weeks ago I *finally* physically started my semester in Germany, and it was all thanks to Italy for still allowing ordinary Brits to travel there when I went, even though Germany didn’t. My 13-day journey to Germany via Italy was an absolute saga to say the least, and I hope I can share a little bit about what it’s like to travel internationally in 2021 in this vlog. Enjoy!

When I travelled (and it would still be the case now as I’m not double-vaccinated) it was impossible to go to Germany directly from the UK, even if you quarantined (unless you were travelling to Germany for an emergency reason, and studying abroad doesn’t count!). In order to be allowed into Germany, because of covid, I had to spend 10 days outside of the UK immediately before trying to enter.

Furthermore, I was still paying rent in Berlin for accommodation I wasn’t using (and couldn’t get out of) and I thought enough was enough. I might as well try and get into Germany. I literally had nothing to lose. So this is the vlog of that…

If you enjoyed this video I’d love it so much if you gave me a thumbs up and subscribed – it helps me out a lot and also means that you won’t miss out on my future content! ✨

If you, as a viewer, have any suggestions for future videos, please comment them down below and I’ll do my best to make some videos in the future incorporating these!

Here’s a breakdown of the video…
00:00 intro
00:38 London to Milan, Italy
01:15 My time in Milan
05:40 Milan to Genoa
05:50 My time in Genoa/Liguria
10:04 Genoa to Bologna
10:23 My time in Bologna
12:44 Bologna to Berlin, Germany
12:56 Arriving in Berlin
13:31 outro

I’ve added English subtitles to this video – just click the ‘⚙️’ button and there will be an option to watch this video with CC!

🌿 Who am I?
Hello! My name’s Sarah and I’m a 22-year-old undergrad student, originally from London, but moved to Nottingham where I spent most of my teenage years, and now I’m in my third year studying (mainly) German and Italian at the University of Bath! I’m currently on my ‘year abroad’ in which I’m doing an internship in a small business in Italy before studying at university in Berlin, Germany. On this channel I’m documenting my experience with all of this in a pandemic, as well as occasional other stuff on things I’m interested in, such as minimalism. If you like what you see, then please stick around!

📸 Follow me on Instagram!

all info correct at time of upload

🔗 My affiliate links/codes 🔗
➤ Speakly (learn a language up to 5x faster!) – 40% discount on different languages using the codes SEN1 for English; SEN2 for Spanish; SEN3 for French; SEN4 for German; SEN5 for Italian; SEN6 for Russian; SEN7 for Estonian and SEN8 for Finnish.

If you click on one of these links/use one of the discount codes above and you make a purchase, this will also help me out as I will receive a small commission at no extra cost to you. As a channel policy I only recommend products/services which I have used myself, because I would like my audience to have the best experience possible with things you find through me! I will also be adding to this list in the coming weeks, so please keep a look out for more links in my future videos! 🤍

If you’re interested in working with me, please find my email address for business enquiries in the ‘About’ tab on my channel.

I use Canva to edit most of the graphics you see here on this channel! You can find and get some premium perks if you follow this link (it helps me out too!) –

Music by Heartheat – Brand New –
Music by Peter Lam – Far Away –
Music by Nico Anuch – Saturn Sunset –

#semesterabroad #travelinginapandemic #Berlin

source

10 Comments

Leave a Reply